Meet Your Minnesota Sprints Champions!

After days of voting, we have crowned our sprints champions! In some close votes, our winners are Jedah Caldwell from Chanhassen High School and Jeremiah Jacobson from Lakeville South! Let' meet your winners! 

Jedah Caldwell
Chanhassen High School
University of Kansas

  • PRs: 100m- 11.67 (2nd fastest of decade), 200m- 23.41W, 4x100- 48.39, 4x200- 1:42.02
  • 3x 100m & 200m Section Champion (2014-16)
  • 1x 4x100m Relay Section Champion (2015)
  • 2x 100m & 200m State Champion (2015-16)
  • State Finalist 4x100 (2nd, 2015), 4x200 (4th, 2016)
  • 6th at 2016 New Balance Nationals 200m (23.41W fastest of decade), 14th 100m (prelims)
  • 2016 Gatorade Minnesota Track & Field POY

Jeremiah Jacobson
Lakeville South High School
Arizona State University

  • PR's: 100m-10.64, 200m- 21.68
  • 3x Class AA 100m and 200m State Qualifier
  • 1x Section 1AA 100m Champion
  • 2x Section 1AA 200m Champion
  • 4x Section 1AA 100m and 200m Qualifier

Now a quick reminder of what this is.

What Is This?

Over the next several weeks MileSplit Minnesota will be rolling out brackets broken down by discipline. Fans can vote for who they think is the top athlete in each discipline. In the end, we will be crowning the top track and field athlete in the state of Minnesota as selected by the fans.

The Setup

We've selected 16 boys and girls for each discipline based on their times, performances, and accolades during this past decade and placed them in a bracket of head-to-head matchups where your poll votes on the next page will determine who advances.


Athletes included are from the period between 2010 and 2019. Mid-distance is based solely on 400 and 800 times. Distance is based on 1600m and 3200m times. Sprints is based on 100m and 200m times. Hurdlers are based on 110m HH and 300m HH times. Relays were taken into consideration on an individual basis. Throwers are based on discus and shot put. Jumps is high jump, long jump, triple jump, and pole vault all rolled into one category.

How This Works

Athletes are seeded based on times, performances, and accolades. After each round, the athlete with the most votes in their matchup will advance to the next round. Voting will begin at 10 a.m. CT for each round of voting, voting will end at 2 p.m. CT for each round. Be sure to spread the word to advance your favorites into the next round!

Each discipline (Distance, Mid-Distance, Hurdlers, Throwers, Sprints, Jumps) will have a winner from the boys and girls bracket. After we are done with all brackets there will be one final bracket with all 6 boys and girls winners, plus the next two highest vote-getters (from all rounds) from the boys and girls. These 16 athletes will then compete on separate sides of a bracket all culminating in a boy vs. girl final to determine the champion of champions.


Boys and girls Mid-Distance June 10-20

Boys and girls Throwers June 21 - July 1

Boys and girls Sprints July 3-13

Boys and girls Distance July 14-24

Boys and girls Hurdles July 25 - August 4

Boys and girls Jumps August 5- 15

Boys and girls Finals August 16-26