Poll: Austin Salargo vs. Nate Roese Runoff Vote

After the first round of voting we have 7 boys mid distance runners ready to go onto the next round of voting. Those matchups are highlighted in the bracket above. 

The problem is we need 8 boys for the next round, but our matchup of Nate Roese v. Austin Salargo ended in a tie so we will now have a 24 hours runoff vote starting now and going until 10pm CST on June 14th, 2020.

The winner of the runoff vote will go on to face Cal Lawton in the second round. Athlete bios are below along with the poll. 

What Is This?

Over the next few weeks MileSplit Minnesota will be rolling out brackets broken down by discipline. Fans can vote for who they think is the top athlete in each discipline. In the end, we will be crowning the top track and field athlete in the state of Minnesota as selected by the fans. This poll is for the best girls mid-distance performer of the past decade.

The Setup

We've selected 16 girls based on their times, performances, and accolades during this past decade and placed them in a bracket of head-to-head matchups where your poll votes on the next page will determine who advances.


Athletes included are from the period between 2010 and 2019. Mid-distance is based solely on 400 and 800 times, performances, and accolades.

How This Works

Athletes are seeded 1 through 16 based on times and ranking. After each round, the athlete with the most votes in their matchup will advance to the next round. Voting will begin at 10 a.m. CT for each round of voting, voting will end at 2 p.m. CT for each round. Be sure to spread the word to advance your favorites into the next round!

Each discipline (Distance, Mid-Distance, Hurdlers, Throwers, Sprints, Jumps) will have a winner from the boys and girls bracket. After we are done with all brackets there will be one final bracket with all 12 boys and girls winners, plus the next two highest vote getters (from all rounds) from the boys and girls. These 16 athletes will then compete on separate sides of a bracket all culminating in a boy vs. girl final to determine the champion of champions.


Round 1: June 10-13

Round 2: June 15-17

Round 3: June 18-19

Final Round: June 20-21

Nate Roese

East Ridge High School

2x Class AA State Champion 400m (2012-13),Class AA State Championship Meet 400m Record (2013),Class AA 400m State Runner-up (2011),3x Section Champion 400m (2011-13).

PR's:47.56 400m | 2:05.91 800m


Austin Salargo

Hopkins High School

Class AA State Champion 400m (2012),Class AA State Runner-up 400m (2012), 2x Section 6AA Champion 400m (2011-12), 800m Hamline Elite Meet Champion (2012).Fourth fastest 400m time of the decade in Minnesota.

PR's: 47.91 400m | 1:57.00 800m