Minnesota Track and Field True Team Hub

The Pine Island Boys won their first True Team State Championship in Class A


Another year of Minnesota track and field True Team has passed by, and though the meets were formatted a bit differently this year due to state limitations, this True Team season did not disappoint. Check out all content involving True Team below:

True Team Rankings

State True Team Champions:


The Pine Island boys have had good success at the True Team state meet this past decade, highlighted by a 4th place finish in 2014, a 3rd place finish in 2015, a 4th place finish in 2016 and a 2nd place finish in 2017. After their string of top finishes, they finally pushed through for a championship in 2021 and were anchored by strong performances from Jarod White, Zackery Ihde, Mark Quintero, Gabe Northrop, and Colton Kramer.
The Willmar boys came in with high expectations again after winning the past four True Team State Championships for Class AA (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019). They did not disappoint on their way to another championship this year. It was a close race between Willmar and Cloquet and the difference, in the end, was just a measly 4.5 points (599.50 to 595). Their win was anchored by strong performances from Michael Price, Kory Behm, Colin O'Farrell, Sully Anez, Sam May, Aaron Watland, and Jacob Rosendahl.
After making the State True Team meet every year from 2005-2014 and two titles, the Rosemount boys had a down period where they didn't make the state true team at all. Well, this year they made it and came back with a vengeance on their way to the Class AAA State True Team title. They handily beat all the competition with their nearest competitor, Wayzata, coming 175.5 points. That was the same difference between second-place Wayzata and eighth-place Mounds View. The Rosemount boys team cruised to victory behind strong performances from Gary Afram, Miles Townsend, Brennen Peterson, Grantham Green, Cedric Wall, Aiden Buendorf, Weston Ebner, and Hayden Bills.


The GMLOKS girls took home the Class A True Team state title, improving their standing after a third-place finish in 2019. They edged out Minnewaska by a score of 607.50 to 565.50. They took home the title after logging strong performances from Anika Reiland, McKenna Hendrickson, Lauren Queensland, Hailey Hindt, Madison Hindt, Lexi Foster, and Shelby Beck.
After narrowly finishing in 2nd in 2019 by only 2 points behind the Willmar girls, the Rocori girls pulled ahead this year to take home the Class AA True Team state title by 38 points over the Rockford girls. This is their fourth Class AA championship (2015, 2017, 2018, 2021) and they also won a Class AAA title in 1987. They won the title this year behind strong performances from Selma Dingmann, Ava Larsen, Elise Hofer, Cecelia Woods, Aedyn Colville, and Brianna Schneider
The Rosemount girls had previously only been to True Team state two times in their history prior to this season. Once in 1987 when they finished as runner-up and in 2017 when they finished 6th. While this year they broke through in a major way to become the Class AAA champions. They were able to hold off runner-up Wayzata by a final score of 1272.50 to 1265.50. They were anchored by strong performances from Mackenzie Jacobson, Jenna Johnson, Taylor Heimerl, Ava Cinnamo, Shay Payne, Catelyn Ketterling, and Jordan Hecht

See Also: