Elite High School Milers to Face-Off at 2023 Drake Relays

From left to right: Marley Turk, Simeon Birnbaum, Jordyn Arens, and Clay Shively


To create additional opportunities to compete at historic Drake Stadium and satisfy fans' appetite to witness the best the sport has to offer, the Drake Relays continually looks for opportunities to showcase the sport of track and field with new and unique events. One of those opportunities this year is creating an elite 1-mile event for high school competitors that will feature Iowa's best lining up against competitors from neighboring midwest states for the first time on the Blue Oval.

It's an accomplished field for both the boy's and the girl's elite miles with some of the best of the best of the Midwest. 

The boy's elite field includes Simeon Birnbaum, one of 17 boys to break the four-minute-mile barrier as a high schooler, Iowa state record holder Jackson HeideschClay Shively who this year broke a Jim Ryun Kansas record, and 4x Minnesota state record holder Noah Breker

On the girl's side, you have 2022 Drake Relays 3000m champion Paityn Noe, South Dakota sophomore standout Libby Castelli, Missouri 1500m #1 Josie Baker, and 8x Nebraska state champion Jordyn Arens

It can be anyone's race to take as we know from Burnbaum's sub-four-minute-mile from last year when he came into his race as the lowest-seeded runner with a time of 4:07.88. 

The elite high school mile will be contested on Friday, April 29th at 8:28 pm for the girls and 8:35 for the boys. 

For the seeded times, all times were from the MileSplit database. If a runner did not have a 1-mile time, a converted 1500m or 1600m time was used. 


Elite High School Mile Entries

Time-based on best indoor or outdoor Mile PR


AthleteSchoolStateMile PR 

Simeon Birnbaum

Rapid City StevensSD3:59.51

Jackson Heidesch

Dowling CatholicIA4:02.25

Clay Shively

Wichita Trinity AcademyKS4:04.95

Wyatt Haughton

Shawnee Mission EastKS4:10.42

Andrew Hauser

Rock BridgeMO4:10.61

Noah Breker

Robbinsdale ArmstrongMN4:10.71

Hobbs Campbell


Ford Washburn

Iowa City HighIA4:13.43

Dan Watcke

Hinsdale CentralIL4:15.52

Caden Peters

Shawnee Mission EastKS4:21.27

Carson Lane



AthleteSchoolStateMile PR 

Paityn Noe


Addi Dorenkamp


Libby Castelli

Sioux Falls O'GormanSD4:59.11

Adrienne Buettner-Cable

Des Moines RooseveltIA5:02.46

Lydia Sommer

Pleasant ValleyIA5:05.11

Josie Baker


Ruth Pardy

Sioux Falls O'GormanSD5:06.21

Marley Turk


Jordyn Arens