Hushagen and Anderson Voted MS MN XC Runners of the Year


After the voting concluded last night, you guys have spoken and Norah Hushagen of Forest Lake and Isaiah Anderson of Mankato East were voted as the MileSplit Minnesota XC Runners of the Year for 2023! 

Hushagen a Junior at Forest Lake ran a remarkable season that saw her win the Class AAA state title, the NXR Heartland Regional title, and six other races alongside her two huge wins. Hushagen finished as the #1 5K runner in Minnesota this season with a time of 17:07.30 and ranked #45 nationally for the 5K this fall. 

Hushagen will return next fall as the top cross country returner in Minnesota, the #2 runner in the Heartland region, and the #25 ranked returner nationally for next fall. 

Anderson led the Mankato East boys to their second straight Class AA state title this year in a race they won in a dominant effort scoring just 46 points. Anderson was Mankato East's lead runner all year long and individually he finished with five wins this season, a new 5K PR of 15:30.90, and a 5th place finish at the state meet. 


Voting Breakdown

Runner% of Vote
Isaiah Anderson31%
Robert Mechura26%
Erik Semling12%
Will Weber9%
Sam Scott5%
Nolan Sutter4%
Bjorn Anderson4%
Eli Hall3%
Lev Dougherty2%
Eddie Snider1%


Runner% of Vote
Norah Hushagen31%
Jenna DeBates29%
Olivia Pauly11%
Mia Hoffmann10%
Isabelle Schmitz8%
Ella Voit4%
Allyson Sample4%
Caitlyn Osanai2%
Jazleen Malherek-Osorio1%
Evie Malec1%