See Who Qualified for the True Team State Championships


In 1987, the State Track and Field Coaches Association introduced a groundbreaking concept to the world of track and field: the True Team Series. This innovative competition was devised to address a fundamental issue in the sport - the traditional team championships often favored squads with a few standout athletes, rather than rewarding overall team depth and performance. The True Team Series sought to redefine the concept of a team champion, emphasizing the collective strength and depth of a team rather than individual star power.

Unlike traditional meets where a team could dominate with a few elite performers, the True Team Series leveled the playing field by limiting entries per event. Each team was permitted only two entries in Class 1A and 2A (three entries in Class 3A) for individual events, and one entry for each relay event. This format ensured that every athlete's performance contributed to the team's success, as every entry was scored based on their finishing position. This approach highlighted the importance of every team member, from the top performers to those contributing crucial points with second or third entries. The True Team Series thus became a celebration of true team effort and performance, where every athlete's contribution was vital to their team's success.

With the True Team sections meets happening and the state meet on the horizon, we look at which teams have qualified for the 2023 MSHSCA True Team State Championships. 

Class A Boys

1A- St. Charles

2A- Minnesota Valley Lutheran

3A- Luverne

4A- Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted

5A- Montevideo

6A- Osakis

7A- Crosby-Ironton


Class A Girls


2A- Janesville/Waldorf/Pemberton

3A- Luverne

4A- Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted

5A- Minnewaska

6A- Barnesville

7A- Pierz


Class AA Boys

1AA- Stewartville

2AA- Jordan

3AA- St. Thomas Academy

4AA- Totino-Grace

5AA- Rocori

6AA- Rockford

7AA- Cloquet

8AA- Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton

Class AA Girls

1AA- Byron

2AA- Belle Plaine

3AA- Simley

4AA- Academy of Holy Angels

5AA- Rocori

6AA- Delano

7AA- Chisago Lakes

8AA- Pequot Lakes

Class AAA Boys

1AAA- Mankato East


3AAA- Rosemount


5AAA- Blaine

6AAA- Mounds View

7AAA- Minnetonka

8AAA- Moorhead

Class AAA Girls

1AAA- Lakeville South

2AAA- Eagan

3AAA- Prior Lake


5AAA- Blaine

6AAA- Roseville

7AAA- Minnetonka

8AAA- Alexandria