Dwyne Smith Notches Big Win at Brooks PR Invitational


Just the greatest of all-time doing greatest of all-time things yet again!

Dwyne Smith Jr., the Apple Valley senior and University of Minnesota commit, stayed undefeated on the season with a spectacular performance at the 2024 Brooks PR Invitational, extending his undefeated streak in the event to eleven races in a row. 

In a field that included state champions Lawson Jacobs (TX), Ronnie Kendrick (NV), Hudson Allain (TN), and Karl Dietz (OH), as well as U.S. #9 runner Kevin Bello, all of whom rank in the top 40 for 400m times nationally this season and have run under 47 seconds in the event, it was Minnesota state champion and state record holder, Dwyne Smith Jr., who outpaced them all for the win.

Brooks PR Invitational 400m (HS) Results

1Dwyne Smith Jr.47.04
2Lawson Jacobs47.41
3Kevin Bello47.59
4Hudson Allain47.74
5Karl Dietz47.90
6Jaylin Santiago48.38
7Ronnie Kendrick48.92
DNFPeyton SommersDNF

Smiths time of 47.04 was the third fastest effort of his career, behind his state record time of 46.87 from the Section 3AAA Championships this year and his Hamline Elite Meet winning time of 46.93. 

Currently, Smith holds the Minnesota state record in the event with a time of 46.87, making him one of only two runners in Minnesota history to break the 47-second barrier. The other is Harlow Tong, with a time of 46.98. He also is the indoor state record holder for the 400m with a time of 48.73. 

His latest victory not only solidifies his reputation as one of the best in the nation but also sets the stage for an exciting collegiate career with the Gophers. The Apple Valley community and track and field fans across Minnesota are buzzing with pride and anticipation for what lies ahead for this remarkable athlete.