State Meet Preview - Boys Class A and Class AA

Class AA

Sprints (100, 200, 400) – With 100 and 200 defending champion Devin Crawford-Tufts out due to injury, Quinton Coleman (Duluth East) has a strong chance of finishing near the top in both events; he will be challenged by Anthony Gustafson (Faribault), Ayuk Tambe (Blaine), D'Monte Farley (Park Cottage Grove), and Dontay Matthews (Saint Francis) in the 100.

Mike Sandle (Eden Prairie) will challenge for the top spot in the 200 with other sprinters to watch including Ben Neyers (Mankato East), Matthews, Farley, and Coleman.

In the 400 Austin Salargo (Hopkins) will vie for the top spot with a Milesplit US First Team time posted in the section race.  It will be a close race with stong competition from Rashawn Fountain (Eden Prairie), Nate Roese (East Ridge), John McCoy (White Bear Lake), Neil Goff (Stillwater), Goaner Deng (Rosemount) and Andrew Hausmann (Rosemount) all posting strong times this spring.

Distance (800, 1600, 3200) - Eric Gebeke (White Bear Lake) returns following a 4th place finish in last year's state meet but the 800 will be a close race with David Platner (Eden Prairie), Adam Moline (Wayzata), Chandler Dye (Rosemount) and Ryan Erdman (Mankato East) all returning from 2010.

Nine athletes will contend for the title in both the 1600 and 3200 with Adam Zutz (Saint Francis) taking the edge in the 1600; Totino-Grace duo Adam Braun and Steven Dado will present strong challenges along with Christian Skaret (Minnetonka), Trent Lusignan (Shakopee), and Parker Wharram (Mound-Westonka). 

In the 3200 three of the top four finishers from the Hamline Elite Meet will battle it out for the top spot in the state - Aldis Inde (Edina), Zutz and Josh Thorson (Wayzata).  Braun, Dado and Lusignan will also be contenders for the title.

Hurdles (110H, 300H) - In the 110 hurdles, Jerome Begin (Buffalo) will look to move up from his #2 finish in 2010 to take the top spot but he will face strong challenges from Marshall Davis (Stillwater), RJ Alowonle (Park Cottage Grove), and Colin Paarman (Mankato East). 

Alowonle and Begin will also challenge for the top spot in the 300 hurdles with Alowonle looking to defend his state title; Davis, Connor Neal (Shakopee), Rashad Cohen (Minnetonka) and Travis Collins (Delano) will all be strong contenders for the top spot as well.

High Jump - Trevor Yedoni (Benilde-St. Margaret) hopes to defend his title after battling an ankle injury in sections; Frank Veldman (Eastview), DeAntre Smith (Roseville), returners Darik Schaaf (Coon Rapids) and Jamie Crum (Minnetonka) will challenge Yedoni on his bid for back to back golds.

Long Jump - Eden Prairie's Rumeal Harris comes in as the defending champ but will face strong challenges from Gustafson, Yedoni, Feldman and Farley.

Triple Jump - Sandle has already broken his MN All-Time Record in the triple jump and should take the title at state.  Other challengers include Alowonle, Martin Miller (Roseville), Farley and Veldman.

Pole Vault - Kent Esslinger (Mankato East) should take the top spot in the pole vault with challenges from Chris Kolb (Mankato West), Tyler Massey (Forest Lake) and Luke Sadergaski (Faribault).

Shot Put/Discus - Luke Johnson (Red Wing) and Thomas Anderson (Andover) both have a great shot at taking the top spot in both events;  the biggest threat in the shot will be Joseph Bjorklund (Rosemount). 

In the discus throw, Ben Kuhr (Lakeville South), Torsten Rotto (Woodbury) and Jesse Reemtsma (Spring Lake Park) will be strong contenders for top 5 finishes.

Relays - Wayzata has an opportunity to finish on top in both the 4x800 and 4x400 relays with Blaine and Stillwater challenging for the top spot in both.  Apple Valley, Blaine and Minnetonka will make for a close finish in the 4x100.  White Bear Lake will attempt to defend their title but will face strong challenges from Stillwater and Hopkins.


Sprints (100, 200, 400) - Calvin Clark (St. Paul Humboldt) has the chance to repeat his trifecta from 2010 with wins in all three events.  Adam Drenckhahn (Caledonia), Christian Scapanski (Foley), and John Bedingham (Minnehaha Academy) could be spoilers in the 100. 

Bedingham and Michael Kemmerer (Holy Family) will battle for the 2nd spot in the 200 with Clark the clear favorite.  In the 400 Wade Kerner (Roseau), Adam Schultz (Fairmont) and Tim Ryan (St. Croix Lutheran) should finish in the top 5.

Distance (800, 1600, 3200) - The 800 looks to be a three-way race with Ryan Swenson (Lac Qui Parle Valley), Nicholas Rudolph (Waseca) and Justin Cook (Jackson County Central) all posting fast times in their section races. 

Eight athletes will attempt to place in both the 1600 and 3200 with Mubarik Musa (Worthington) attempting to defend his 1600 title against 2010's runner up Mason Ferlic (Mounds Park Academy) as well as Cullen Shanrock (Wabasha-Kellogg) and Matt Jergenson (Caledonia).

In the 3200, Ferlic will attempt to defend his 2010 title, and capture the distance crown in both cross country and track's longest event.  He wil face 2010 runner up Musa, Grant Wintheiser (St. Cloud Cathedral), and Jensen Orlow (Holy Family) in what really could be anybody's race.

Hurdles (110, 300) - Look for Adam Bungum (Triton) to attempt to take the top spot in both races with Reed Bjork (Rochester Lourdes) and Aaron Dunphy (The Marshall School) challenging in the 110 hurdles. 

The 300 hurdles will be a much closer race with Justin McMurtry (Fairmont), Cole Fuchs (Byron), Sam Stokes-Cerkvenik (Virginia) and James Greiner (Eveleth-Gilbert) all figuring into the equation.

High Jump - Brandon Zylstra (New London-Spicer) and Nate Golden (Springfield) have both hit the 6-07 mark this spring and will challenge for the gold.  Aaron Wubben (Central MN Christian), Brian Huber (Staples-Motley) and Ben Dreher (Browerville) will push to make the top mark as well.

Long Jump - Dreher will attempt to move up from his #10 finish in 2010 and has the strongest Class A mark this spring. He will be challenged by Caleb Hamp-Sill (Two Harbors), Brandon Giese (Zimmerman) and Beau Kashmark (West Central Area).

Triple Jump - Ryan Baumbach (Byron) enters the field with a wind-aided top mark of 45-02.50 and will face strong challengers Brandon Berger (Worthington), Sean O'Connell (St. Peter), Zylstra and Kip Willis (St. Cloud Cathedral).

Pole Vault - Grant Krieger (The Blake School), Jake Zebedee (Blue Earth Area) and Cole Lubinski (Plainview-Elgin-Millville) will all battle it out for the top spot.

Shot Put/Discus – Jack Fraser (LeSueur-Henderson) should take the top spot in the shot put, with Hunter Anderson (Hayfield) and Brian Blasey (Ada-Borup) also posting strong throws this spring. 

Anderson and Blasey will also contend for the top spot in the discus throw - Dan Wood (Pelican Rapids) will also be in the picture for the top spot.

Relays - While the top two teams from 2010 return in the 4x800 expect to see St. Cloud Cathedral and Fairmont battling it out for the top spot. 

Fairmont has a chance to also take the 4x400 but will face a strong rival in Cannon Falls. 

Four teams return to the track from 2010 in the 4x200 with Pipestone hoping to defend the title.  Caledonia, Pine City and Fairmont could be spoilers and should vie for the title. 

None of the top 5 teams from 2010 return in 2011 in the 4x100, leaving the top spot on the podium wide open. It could be a neck and neck finish between Caledonia and Triton for the top spot.