2023 Metro Area Athena Awards Winners Announced

From left to right: Laura Bosin, Hailee Zimpel, Megan Lee, and Delia Johnson


The Athena Award is a prestigious award for Twin Cities area girls. It's given to one senior girl at each high school for outstanding individual athletic achievement or superior achievement in one or more sports. It is given to Minneapolis and St. Paul area schools. 

According to their website:
The Athena Award is a powerful statement in the belief that these outstanding female athletes have made a difference, and as they go out into the world, they are the type of people who will continue to make a difference and amaze others.  Recognizing them as they complete their high school accomplishments and athletic career, may just empower them to be the next great leader, entrepreneur, educator - their potential is limitless.  We want to identify and validate them for their efforts and accomplishments. 

So without further ado, here we look at those senior girls with XC or track and field experience who have been awarded their school's 2023 Athena Award.

Follow Us on Social Media:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

*College commitment could be for a sport other than cross country, nordic skiing, or track and field. 


Minneapolis Area Schools

AthleteSchoolCollege (If Committed)

Kendall Stadden

BlaineUniversity of Minnesota

Megan Lee

Bloomington JeffersonUniversity of Wisconsin

Paige Kalal

Champlin ParkUniversity of Minnesota

Lilah Bergan

Columbia HeightsUndecided

Kennedy Martinson

Coon RapidsUniversity of Minnesota

Annika Anderson

Eden PrairieUndecided

Ella Johnson

Elk RiverMontana State

Amayramy Ruiz Barrios

FridleyUniversity of Minnesota

Kendra Krueger


Jordyn Borsch

Maple GroveNotre Dame

Molly Minnema

Minneapolis HenrySioux Falls

Ava Maly

Minneapolis RooseveltPepperdine

Kendra Lynch

Minneapolis SouthUndecided

Abigail Hollenstein


Elise Biorn

RockfordSt. Thomas

Hannah Bruskiewicz

RogersSt. Cloud State

Haley Zelen

ShakopeeUniversity of Wisconsin

Grace Brandt

Spring Lake ParkMary

Sierra Halverson

Saint Anthony VillageUndecided

Molly Vance


Abbey Nechanicky

WayzataUniversity of Colorado

Hailee Zimpel

ZimmermanMichigan Tech

St. Paul Area Schools

AthleteSchoolCollege (If Committed)

Aletta Strande


Caitlyn Bumpers

EaganCollege of Idaho

Jordan Parent

Forest LakeNorthern Michigan

Cara Sajevic

Gentry AcademySt. Thomas

Emily Ellingson


Taylor Isabel

Mounds ViewUniversity of Minnesota

Sammi Chandler

Red WingMSU-Mankato

Jordan Hecht


Hemetii Apet


Laura Bosin


Sarah Wincentsen

South St. PaulUndecided

Maeve Lindsay

St. Paul CentralUndecided

Kyaira Wilson

St. Paul HardingMSU-Mankato

Delia Johnson

St. Paul Highland ParkUniversity of Minnesota

Makenzy Wilson

St. Paul HumboldtUndecided

Avery Braunshausen


Ava Warford

Two RiversUniversity of Minnesota

Megan Ryan

White Bear LakeUndecided

Go to the next page to Athena Award social media posts!