Stillwater Duo Named 2020 Minnesota Gatorade XC POY Winners

Analee Weaver (left) and Ethan Vargas (right) both Gatorade POY WInners (Photos courtesy of TwinCities)


It's deja vu all over again as Analee Weaver was named the repeat girls Minnesota Gatorade XC Player of the Year winner. Alongside Weaver, her Stillwater High School classmate, Ethan Vargas, was named the boys Minnesota Gatorade XC Player of the Year. 

Weaver, the state's returning Gatorade Runner of the Year, set the state record in the 5K with a time of
16:42.6 at the Forest Lakes Suburban East Conference Tri-Meet on Oct. 1. Weaver completed an undefeated season against in-state competition by winning the Twin Cities Running Club Showcase Large School Division race in 17:04.38, breaking the tape 44.62 seconds ahead of her next-closest competitor. She also took fourth at the XC Town USA Meet of Champions.

Check out other articles mentioning Ana Weaver Below

2021 Track, 9 Bold Predictions | Athlete to Watch | A Conversation with Stillwater and BYU Commit Analee Weaver | Analee Weaver's Record Run Highlighted Big Weekend

Vargas won the Twin Cities Running Club Showcase Large School race this past season with a time of 15:54.6, breaking the tape 2.52 seconds ahead of his next-closest competitor. Vargas also took first at the Section 4AA meet and the Suburban East Conference Championship meet. There was no state meet due to pandemic concerns. A three-time All-SEC selection, he finished 10th at the 2019 Class AA state meet.

Check it out! Early Season Track Rankings

Girls | Boys

Previous Winners of the Minnesota Gatorade XC POY Award

Winner School Year

Emily Covert

Minneapolis Washburn


Tierney Wolfgram

Math & Science Academy


Lauren Peterson 




Winner School Year

Nick Scheller



Acer Iverson


2018-19 & 2017-18

Alex Miley

Maple Grove



Check out previous articles about our Gatorade POY WInners Below:

Acer Iverson Named Minnesota's Gatorade Player Of The Year For Boys Cross Country

2019 State-By-State Gatorade Girls Athletes Of The Year

Gatorade POY Awards Go To Emily Kompelien And Sam Moore

Tierney Wolfgram Named Minnesota's Gatorade Player Of The Year For Girls Cross Country

Scheller Named Gatorade Boys Minnesota XC Runner of the Year